Beautiful People #2: Iaelie

Ereinne here, for the moment.  We all realized recently that even though we’ve been around since March, you haven’t met all of us!  I wrote the first post, Tiri and Saelas wrote a post, Kivessa participated in Beautiful People, and Cimizelle wrote a post.  Other than that, we’ve seen that Kalvias is afraid of spiders, and Dazant got into an argument about ships with another commenter (he’s totally wrong, by the way), but what about the rest of us?  Since we’ll get to see a tiny bit of Ceveth in a few days, we thought it was time that Iaelie got shoved to center stage.

And she hates center stage.

This is going to be awesome.


10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_nBeautiful people, hosted at Paper Fury and Further Up and Further In, is a monthly character meme—kinda like Studies in Character, only there’s just ten questions.

Anyway, so, we get Iaelie this month.  Iaelie’s younger self was awesome, and she was one of my best friends, but then she decided being stiff, boring, and grumpy was more important.

I think that awesomeness is still in there somewhere, though.

Now, Iaelie’s turn to talk.


IaelieHow often do you smile? Would you smile at a stranger?

No.

What is the cruelest thing you’ve ever been told? And what was your reaction?

I grew up with several older siblings who spent most of their time mocking me and my brother.  I heard a lot of cruel things.

I learned to repress it, and hide it deep inside, but I can’t say it did not scar me deeply.

What is the kindest thing you’ve ever been told? And what was your reaction?

When I was ten, I met Datael, who became my first real friend, and he was probably also the first person to actually tell me I was good at anything.  I didn’t believe him.

What is one strong memory that has stuck with your character from childhood? Why is it so powerful and lasting?

If I were to pick a single good memory, I would say Initiation.  That was where I met Datael, and where I started to realize that I could prove myself and my worth.  And looking back, I did have fun.

What book (a real actual published book!) do you think you would benefit from reading?

I have no idea.

[That’s a total cop out, Iaelie!]

I know.

Have you ever been seriously injured? How severely? How did you react?

Not severely.

Do you like and get along with your neighbours?

Not really.

On a scale from 1 to 10 (1 being easy and 10 being difficult) how easy are you to get along with?

If I’m honest, I’d say probably an eight.

[Are you kidding?  A nine.]

You would be a nine as well, Tiri.

[D’awww man, I was hoping I got a ten.]

[Don’t sound so proud of it! You should both trying to be, like, at least sixes or something.]

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I have no interest in traveling.

Who was the last person you held hands with?

Datael tried to hold my hand a few weeks ago.  I think I punched him.

[IAELIE!  How could you do such a thing?]

I didn’t break his nose again, if that was what you were worried about.  He’s fine.


[Wow, well, that’s Iaelie.
Honestly, I think we would have gotten more out of Raethl or Saelas.]

[Don’t count on it.]

[I no longer doubt that Iaelie and Saelas are related.]

9 thoughts on “Beautiful People #2: Iaelie

  1. Whelp, some characters are just terse. But still, I love getting to know characters! Iaelie sounds like me on my extreme introverting phases, so I completely understand.

    Like

  2. Well, for a character who was reluctant to say much, Iaelie’s interview was fun to read. But some characters would be like that, though. Not everyone is a chatterbox. 😉

    Iaelie sounds like she’s had a hard life, and only shares things when she thinks it’s absolutely necessary to share them. I like the sounds of her friend Datael, too, since he’s been kind to her. Though she punched him for holding her hand? Well… I’m sure he meant well! *lol*

    Regarding #3: What did Datael say she was good at, btw? Just curious.

    And here’s my BP post, in case you’re interested in reading it: https://saraletourneauwriter.com/2016/05/14/beautiful-people-vol-15/

    Like

    • [Iaelie is definitely not a chatterbox, that’s for sure. Even when she was younger.
      And yeah, Datael meant well, although he probably should have been more careful.]

      [Several things, actually. Initiation is composed of a series of tests, and a lot of them we did together, and he didn’t fail to point out that I was smarter than him and that I made a good leader.]

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

