Beautiful People #3: Dazant

Who’s ready for another Beautiful People post?

Since we have a few characters who are resistant to participating in the blog, we I decided to make them do the Beautiful People posts.  So today is Dazant. (Don’t ask me how to pronounce that, because I have no idea. I know, that’s crazy, Morgan loves weird names, so I should know her patterns to them; I mean, she named me Ereinne and how do you pronounce that? (Air-een, actually. So there.) Anyway. Still no idea how to pronounce it.)

So here’s Dazant.


10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n

What is your first childhood memory?

My parents, I suppose.  I don’t remember anything in particular, just little moments.  My mother tucking into bed.  My father telling me that as the oldest boy, it was my responsibility to look after my sister and brother.  Things like that.

What were your best and worst childhood experiences?

My entire childhood ranked pretty much on the “worse” side of the scale.  The best experiences, I suppose, were those with my parents, before they died.

The worst of the worst were probably the first few years that we spent on the streets.  They were hard, and I was always afraid something would happen to us.  And we were always hungry.  I hated it, but I didn’t know what else we could do.

What was your childhood home like?

Before my parents’ death… I don’t know, I don’t really remember it.  After that, we spent a few years at the orphanage.  That was crowded, but Izioth was already putting funding into things like that, so it wasn’t terrible.

We were only there a short while, though, and then we stayed on the streets.

I’m not sure there ever was a “home”.

What’s something that scared you as child?

At first, probably normal childhood fears.  The dark, and so on.  For a while, I think I was afraid of death, because of my parents, but I didn’t hold onto that fear for long.  The biggest fear I had, and the one I still fight with, is not being enough to keep Kivessa and Ceveth safe.  Or, and I felt this especially after Ceveth nearly got adopted without us, of losing them.

Who did you look up to most?

I didn’t have anybody to look up to.  All there was was me and my siblings, and I was the oldest.

Favorite and least favorite childhood foods?

I could never be so picky.  Orphanage food isn’t great, and on the streets, you ate what you could find and it didn’t matter if it was your least favorite or not.

If you had your childhood again, would you change anything?

You mean, would I do anything differently?  No.  I did what I could to keep us together and alive, and we did survive.  Would I want things to go differently?  Well, it would have been nice if our parents were still alive, but that kind of wishing gets nobody anywhere.

What kind of child were you? Curious? Wild? Quiet? Devious?

Curious, I’d say.  Especially at the orphanage, I was pretty impressionable.  Considering Kivessa and I used to make games out of stealing candies and treats from the kitchen, I was certainly no angel, but I suspect some of that was because I wanted to fit in, and there were a number of other orphans who banded together to play pranks or steal from the orphanage staff.  I didn’t have my parents anymore, and I wanted—needed—a friend.

All I ended up with was what I always had to begin with—my siblings.  That’s all I need, though.

What was your relationship to your parents and siblings like?

I think this question has been answered pretty well.  I only have faint memories of my parents, and I would do anything to keep Kivessa and Ceveth safe.

What did you want to be when you grew up, and what did you actually become?

I didn’t really have time to dream.  I have no idea what I would have wanted to be if I’d had the chance to think about it.

As for what I am now… I’m a thief.  Fugitive of the law, unable to even earn a normal life,  unless I want to spend almost my entire life in prison.

 

7 thoughts on “Beautiful People #3: Dazant

  1. Dazant needs to have fun and just chill and have a good life XD Take him away from this XD
    Just kidding. Well, sort of. I dunno.

    (Funny, I’ve always read his name as duh-ZANT… and Ereinne I’ve always read wrong.)

    Like

  2. I liked this! I liked learning more about Daz’s personality and also some little pieces about more of their backstory (like that Ceveth almost got adopted).

    And I’ve always just pronounced Dazant just like it looks, and Ereinne “air-ee-ine” which is apparently wrong… I don’t know if I’ll be able to remember how to pronounce it right, though, hehe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

