Boring Update Stuff

This post is a little weird to write from the perspective of a character, so today, you get to actually see me, Morgan.

There’s going to be changes around both my blogging style and the way I am present in the blogosphere.  Most of these changes I’m not happy with, but they are, unfortunately, necessary.

This is a longer post than I intended, so sorry for that, but if you want to skim, I tried to bold the important bits.

In the blogosphere:

First off, I won’t be able to read all of the posts that appear in my Reader feed.  The thing is, I love reading all the posts that show up, but there’s so many of them, I often procrastinate until I “will have time to do them all”, and then by that point, there’s so many, I can’t even remember how far back to go, nor do I actually have the time to do so.  (When I tried to look at it earlier this evening, I realized I hadn’t been caught up on anything since the beginning of last month.  That’s pretty sad.)

I’ll still be here, I just won’t read or comment on every post.  I’ll still read some, though, I promise, and if I read the post, I will do my best to also comment.  If there’s a post you really want me to comment on, just let me know, and I will happily do so.

On comments on the blog:

That being said, I will still do my very best to respond to every single comment that’s on my blog.  (Or, rather, my characters will attempt to respond.)  If you don’t get a response, then either A. I didn’t see the comment somehow, B. I commented in my head and forgot to actually post the comment thing, in which case, just let me know and I’ll rectify it, C. a comment didn’t seem necessary or I couldn’t think of anything to say.

Also, regarding HTML within comments.  As you know, currently when a character responds to a comment, they say something within brackets that are colored with the corresponding color, as dictated by the chart on the sidebar.  However, the color often doesn’t show up if you look at the post a certain way, and honestly, putting the HTML in is time-consuming.

So, instead, in comments only, characters will have their name before their actual comment.  This won’t be the case in the actual blog posts; those will continue to remain in brackets.  However, comments will now look something like this:

Ereinne: Hi!

For blog-ish stuff:

Now we get down to the formatting of the blog and my blogging style.  I love using my characters’ voices, although I admit it is often hard to pull off, especially in certain scenarios.  As you may have noticed, it’s very difficult to balance a cast of ten, and so you often see some characters a lot, and others very little.

The characters come from two different projects, Oracular and Sleeping in Cyberspace.  The former is an old project that I am actually planning to shelve for a while and come back to later, when life is less hectic (well, if such a thing exists) and I have a better mindset to tackle the problems that this particular project has.  Cyberspace, on the other hand, is my current WIP.

Why am I telling you this?  I am going to limit the appearances of the cast of Oracular, and focus instead on the three characters from Sleeping in Cyberspace. That is, expect to see more of Kivessa, Dazant, and Ceveth, and less of…everybody else.

Does that mean they’re gone?  Absolutely not.  Ereinne will still probably do her best to introduce as many posts as possible, Tiri will still make contrary comments, and so on and so forth.  But it will happen admittedly less often.

Is this permanent?  No, and it might not even last long.  Maybe in a month or two, I’ll post again, saying that the reverse has happened, and you’ll see…more Ereinne or something.

You may also see “guests”—that is, small appearances from other projects, such as from my NaNoWriMo novel.  I can’t guarantee if/when/how often those will happen; that’s sort of to be determined as it happens.

Blog posts might not be that consistent.  Although anybody who’s followed the blog has probably already gotten that idea.  I’m a full-time college student, and blog posts take a while to write.

I will still be writing Character Studies.  Of them all, these are the easiest and sometimes the most fun to write; plus they seem to be my most popular posts, so don’t worry, those will still be around.  (And also, we have something planned for this month that I think’ll be extra fun.)


Recap, in case you skipped to the end: I’m officially going to be seen less often, both on my blog and on other blogs, but I promise I’m not disappearing.  Meanwhile, the formatting of comments is going to be slightly different, for your convenience, and you will see some characters post less often.

5 thoughts on “Boring Update Stuff

  1. o.O Shim…you exist on this blog? Hehe.

    Aww, sad. D: But I understand why you need to do it. Let’s be honest, I don’t read all the posts in my reader either. And I do look forward to seeing more of the siblings from Cyberspace! I think it’ll be interesting.

    Also, thanks for doing the comment thing. It’ll make things so much easier. 🙂

    Like

    • Every great once in a while, I do.

      The Cyberspace siblings are a lot of fun to write about, so hopefully they’ll be interesting to use on the blog as well. (That is, assuming I can figure out how to make Dazant blog.)

      Heh, for both you guys and myself. It made sense to do it.

      Like

  2. Yeah … I don’t read all the posts in my reader either … and I don’t even have a good excuse like college! But then I’m not very smart (well, at certain subjects), so I’ve had to work extra hard this year … so I suppose I can use that as an excuse!

    I like the ‘Sleeping in Cyberspace’ cast a lot, anyway. 😀

    Like

    • I think school in general counts as an excuse, no matter, hehe. Even if it’s not hard, it’s always, always time-consuming. And it often is hard as well.

      Ooh, really? Thanks. You read the first chapter or so, right?
      I’m glad to know you like them. I’ve worked pretty hard (well, sort of) on their characters, and I’m pretty proud of them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

